IUFRO Research Group 1.05.00 – Future Leadership of the Group

- 1. The aim of this note is to update all members of the Group on proposals that were discussed for future working at the meeting in Valdivia, Chile on 12-14 November 2018.
- 2. The present committee consists of Gary Kerr (Coordinator), Hiromi Mizunga (Deputy) and Eric Zenner (Deputy). All of the committee members have served two 5-year terms and will have to step down at the next IUFRO World Congress (Curitiba, Brazil; September/October 2019). This is because officers of Research Groups are only allowed to serve two terms under the IUFRO working protocol.
- 3. We convened a short meeting to discuss options for future leadership and this was attended by: Gauthier Ligot, Mike Saunders, Ed Lowenstein, Tomas Vraska, Philippe Nolet, Gal Fidej, Gary Kerr, Tom Nagel, Dusan Rozeneberger (apologies), Daniel Soto (apologies), Hiromi Mizunga, John Foppert, Linda Nagel, Toshiaki Owari, Kevin O' Hara, Jean-Martin Lussier and Florian Schnabel.
- 4. Following discussion a proposal was agreed that Linda Nagel would be the Coordinator and a number of Deputies could be appointed, possibly one from each continent represented. For example, Philippe Nolet (North America), Europe (Gauthier Ligot, Dusan Rozenberger or Tom Nagel), Daniel Soto (South America) and Toshiaki Owari (Asia). All other people expressed strong support for the Group and were willing to contribute to its development.
- 5. Gary agreed to confirm the nominations process with the IUFRO Division 1 Coordinator and ask if there was a limit to the number of Deputies.
- 6. It was agreed that a note of the meeting should be circulated so that members who were not able to attend have an opportunity to comment on the proposals and/or put their names forward for one of the leadership positions. To do this please e-mail Gary Kerr (gary.kerr@forestry.gsi.gov.uk) by the **end of December 2018**.

Gary Kerr 23 November 2018