2014 IUFRO World Congress Call for Abstracts is Open – Deadline for Abstract Submissions is 15 October 2013 – submit your abstract at: http://iufro2014.com/scientific-program/abstract-submissions/.


The title of the Congress is "Sustaining Forests, Sustaining People: The Role of Research" and the seven scientific themes of the program are: Forests and People, Forests and Climate Change, Forest and Water Interactions, Forest Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services, Forest Biomass and Bioenergy, Forest Products for a Greener Future, and Forest Health in a Changing World. Sessions will address these themes and more!


Keynote speakers include: Dr. Jack Dangermond (founder and President of ESRI GIS systems – Knowledge Discovery, Synthesis and Application: the Science-Management Interface) & Dr. David Haskell (Professor of Biology, University of the South - Knowledge Discovery, Synthesis and Application: the Science-Management Interface); Dr. Andy Buchanan (Professor of Timber Design at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand - Modern Timber Buildings from Sustainable Forests); Dr. Cecil Konijnendijk van den Bosch (Head of the Department of Landscape Architecture, Planning and Management, University of Copenhagen - City Forests, Forest Cities – exploring the complex liaison between the sylvan and the urban); Dr. David Newbery (Professor for Vegetation Ecology, the Institute of Plant Sciences, University of Bern, Switzerland - On maintaining cycles and feedbacks in tropical forest ecosystems: some thoughts from basic research) and, Connie Hedegaard, to be confirmed (European Commissioner for Climate Action). Plus many more exciting and knowledgeable sub-plenary and technical session speakers.


Submit your abstract today to be part of this unique and exciting event!



The IUFRO 2014 Congress Scientific Committee

John Parrotta (Chair);   Jens Peter Skovsgaard (Division 1); Yousry El-Kassaby (Division 2);   Hans Heinimann (Division 3);   Ron McRoberts (Division 4); Andrew Wong (Division 5); Tuija Sievänen (Division 6); Tod Ramsfield (Division 7); Alain Franc (Division 8); Jim Johnson (Division 9); Mike Wingfield (Vice-President, Divisions); Su See Lee (Vice-President, Task Forces, Special Programmes, Projects and IUFRO-led Initiatives); Lisa Hansen (International Forestry Students Association); Richard Guldin (ex-officio; COC Chair)